Scars and hopes 3: Listen

I’m not the sort of person who ‘just asks God’ and readily downloads the answer. That being said, God is a missionary and if we’re doing missionary type of things then we should expect God to have something to say to us about it. Not that life will be an unbroken journey of “God said this” devoid of doubt and colour; but He wouldn’t be much of a leader if He invited us to a journey and only gave us a two-thousand year old map.

I’d had an idea in the back of my mind for a while, which I hadn’t mentioned to others but others were starting to coincidentally mention to me. It was the idea to take church to the pub, which I’ve mentioned before. Aware of the work, stress and money this would involve as well as the fact that to some this would sound at best barmy or at worst offensive, I prayed. I prayed a simple prayer that went along the lines of “God, if there’s something in this, please make it clear. Amen”.  I knew the church needed to be more open and available to the average person, but I wasn’t sure this was the way. I kept the prayer simple … and went to the pub.

Photo from Bev Meldrum Photography

My friend and I were meeting there to discuss an unrelated church issue; pints in hand, we took our seats at a table for two. As we did so I noticed two women at the table next to us. I didn’t know them, but they were engaged in animated conversation. As I made contact with the seat I heard one say to the other “The problem with that church is that it just needs to be more available”. 

That’s me told, then. God’s a missionary. He says we’re missionaries too. If we’re to make church a missionary endeavour, it only makes sense to ask Him what He’s got to say about it and if there’s any guidance He wants to give. My experience suggests that you get more opportunity to use ‘the gifts of the Spirit’ when we’re doing missionary type of things, because that’s exactly where God is and wants us to be. And just because missionaries have to go somewhere, that doesn’t always mean you’ve had to move.

Ears open?

Also in this series:

Introduction

Soup

Time

5 thoughts on “Scars and hopes 3: Listen

  1. Loving this “mini-series”, Dave :). On reading your first one, I wondered whether it wouldn’t be good to send to Red Letter Christians (only because they have recently run an article on laws banning feeding homeless people and so it is “trending” or whatever works out there!). They are keen for South African (or non-just-US) content. Linda has good links with them if you want to check it out? 🙂

  2. And by “only because”, I was NOT diminishing your blog, but rather explaining why it struck me on reading that one particularly (I hate it that text can be read so many ways and I only ever notice once I push the “send” or “reply” button!)

  3. Pingback: Scars and Hopes 4: Goal | The Blog of David Meldrum

  4. Pingback: Scars and Hopes 5: Plan | The Blog of David Meldrum

  5. Pingback: Scars and Hopes 6: Foundations | The Blog of David Meldrum

Leave a Reply

