Scars and hopes: An Introduction

There’s a movement in the Christian church that’s been increasingly influential over recent years. You could call it many things; the terms you’ve most likely heard are ‘missional’ or ‘mission-shaped’. I’ve been floating around in it for a few years now: to me, what it means is seeking to reshape corporate church life and individual discipleship in such a way as to ensure the thrust of everything is engaged with the missionary direction that we see in the life of God the Father, Son and Holy Spirit.

That’s a start of a definition. I’m not going to go deeper than that here, because many other people already have; and they’ve done it much better than I could. Go out and find them.

What I thought I’d like to do instead is post a few of the lessons and ideas I’ve picked up along the way. Not to say I’ve got it sorted out now; far from it. Just that I thought it would be helpful to put my mistakes out there so you don’t have to make the same ones; and it will help me to process a bit by writing these down.

So there you go. You’ll see a few of those over the next few days. They will be shortish, drawn from mistakes made and representing my hopes for how I and we can do things better in the future.

First up will be something about soup.

7 thoughts on “Scars and hopes: An Introduction

  1. Pingback: Scars and hopes 1: Soup | The Blog of David Meldrum

  2. Pingback: Scars and hopes 2: Time | The Blog of David Meldrum

  3. Pingback: Scars and hopes 3: Listen | The Blog of David Meldrum

  4. Pingback: Scars and Hopes 4: Goal | The Blog of David Meldrum

  5. Pingback: Scars and Hopes 5: Plan | The Blog of David Meldrum

  6. Pingback: Scars and Hopes 6: Foundations | The Blog of David Meldrum

Leave a Reply

