A little something for Holy Week

A blog is the very definition of self-indulgence. I write a blog because it forces me to write; an activity that’s good for me and that I enjoy. Disturbingly, I really do only write for myself. If anyone else is interested, so be it. Still, though, it’s egotistical in the extreme. For Holy Week – the week running up to Easter Day named so by Christians – I’m going to be doing something even more egotistical than usual.

Each day I’ll be posting a blog with a link to a song in it. This song will not be an expressly Christian one, but one that seems to me to speak to the themes and narratives that the church often looks at on each day of Holy Week. I’m not claiming for one minute that this is what these songs are ‘about’; more that for me, at the moment, they speak to that theme.

I’ll try to (briefly) articulate that and then leave the song for you to engage with or ignore as you wish. On some days, especially Good Friday-Easter Day, there’ll be more than one song.

Here’s some arbitrary rules I’ve set myself for this project:

1) No ‘classical’ music. It’s not that I don’t like ‘classical’; it’s just that I don’t speak that musical language. It’s all music of a type that speaks to me in some way, a musical language that I speak.

2) No repeats of artists. This is one of the basic rules of mix-tapes.

3) I’ll try not to be too obvious.

4) If I were to do this again in a week, month or year’s time many of the choices would probably be different. So don’t hold me to this.

5) If you get offended by any of the choices … sorry. But, you know, deal with it.

6) I’ll start on Palm Sunday (the Sunday before Easter), because for the church a week starts on a Sunday.

7) I’m not pretending for one moment this is even remotely original.

8) I’ll link to the lyrics for each song where possible

I may scatter some other blogs of the usual type throughout the week Or I may not. Either way, a more normal blogging pattern will resume after Easter Day.

8 thoughts on “A little something for Holy Week

  1. Pingback: Music For Holy Week, Palm Sunday | The Blog of David Meldrum

  2. Pingback: Music For Holy Week, Monday | The Blog of David Meldrum

  3. Pingback: Music For Holy Week, Wednesday | The Blog of David Meldrum

  4. Pingback: Music For Holy Week, Thursday | The Blog of David Meldrum

  5. Pingback: Music For Holy Week, Good Friday | The Blog of David Meldrum

  6. Pingback: Music For Holy Week, Saturday | The Blog of David Meldrum

  7. Pingback: Music For Holy Week, Easter Day | The Blog of David Meldrum

Leave a Reply

